Now I have eaten Ceviche. Ceviche is something that is supposedly to be a typical Peruvian dish, made of fish and sometimes seafood, which comes in a spicy cocktail-style serving. I normally quite like this food but when Peruvians claim that “no-one can make Ceviche like us and that all Ceviche made elsewhere is simply bad and disgusting”, it is simply just not true. I still would claim that the Ceviche I have had in Ecuador is the best, with El Salvador on the second place. But still, I decided to give the Ceviche in Lima another go; maybe they could prove me wrong.
The Ceviche this time made me feel seriously bad. It was not the fanciest restaurant I went to but I would consider it a relatively clean midrange lunch-place, with many customers. It may only be due to the fact that there is a bacteria-culture in the food here that I am unused to from Europe (but completely normal for Peru), and in that case it is just a matter of getting used to it the hard way. An inevitable sickness.
After only a day of stomach ache, some vomiting and general sickness I recovered and can now eat everything again.
But thank you so much for that, Peruvian Ceviche. You are still not ranked very high.
Ceviche
No comments:
Post a Comment